For the third race in the 2016 Cristal Series we were back on the Mowen Rd course out of Nannup. This undulating wide road is deceptively challenging and some still had memories of how hard the racing was two years ago!!

SWCC Drillers 1 had gone all out with their recruitment to ensure they retained their grip on the Cat 1 series lead with Bernie Swart and Bryce Lanigan subbing in. The new recruits timed their entrance to perfection arriving on the line just as the group set off in the 30km road race.

Both were soon involved in the main breakaway with young Bryce going on to claim victory from Uberquads Liam Magowan with consistent placegetter Nicholas Lawler in third place ahead of Bernie with Michael Midgley from Busselton claiming 5th place ahead of team mate Lee Scurlock.

The Category two group was bolstered with a new BCC team including female superstars Erin Kinnealy and Sarah McLachlan. Team Dunsborough were complaining about the hilly course but Andrew Sime once again came through to claim the sprint finish ahead of BCC2’s Russell Hannah with Erin claiming third place ahead of Lachlan Cudmore from Dunsborough and Arimia’s James Stephenson.

In Category three the Eaton Dogs were making a welcome return to the pack and Pete Frawley showed his recent training has paid off claiming fourth place behind winner Busselton’s Lyndon Miles, Russell Smith and young Josh Commons who took out third. Roger Shooter from the Grinders claimed fifth place ahead of Dave Ferguson. Unfortunately a clip of wheels saw Nick Mattiachio from the Grinders take a heavy fall that needed some first aide attention from the ever professional Darren Spouse. Hopefully Nick can make a speedy recovery and is not deterred from future events.

The Mercy Ships ladies were the first away in the TTT and stuck together communicating well on the road. Arimia 3 were next away and also stuck together as a group with the squirrels’ Owen Miller fitting in well with his new Margaret River team mates.

Eaton Dogs got off to a flying start after arriving late on the start line and they powered through not letting any teams catch them despite losing Vern early on. Fastest in Cat 3 were Geographe Grinders though despite the loss of Nick Mattiachio. After scoring well in the road race, BCC 3 put in a steady effort in the TTT to be third fastest sealing the Series victory ahead of Team Manji and the Geographe Grinders.

Arimia 1 had the timekeepers confused when they took Arimia 2’s start time leaving a bit of sorting to do on the results sheet. The wash up had Team Dunsborough fastest posting 46.15 ahead of Arimia and Drillers 2. Team Dunsborough took the overall series victory for category 2 ahead of Arimia and BCC 2.

In Category 1 the Drillers were the favourites to claim fastest time and they didn’t disappoint posting 43.52, a minute quicker than the Uberquads with BCC1 being led home by Lee Scurlock in third place. This also reflected the series placings with the Drillers claiming a comfortable overall victory.

Many thanks to Mark Thomas who put an enormous amount of work into securing sponsorship, doing a lot of organising pre event and post event collation of results, Suzanne who does a great job with registration and timekeeping, Robbie Commons who sets up signs and flags and brings all the gear to each event, Brendon who sets up finish lines and assists with results and Paul Cogan who supported with lead vehicles when not working. All in all a great team effort and hopefully a formula that we can continue in the future.

Thanks to all the riders who supported the series and particularly the team captains who got their teams organised each time. Best of luck in the upcoming ToMR!!