Collie to Donnybrook and return cycle race

Collie to Donnybrook & Return Classic: August 2016

Saturday 20 August will see the Collie Cycle Club host the 90th Collie to Donnybrook and Return Cycle Classic.

This race, which began in 1925, is the only true remaining handicap event in WA. It is steeped in tradition and includes past winners and fastest timers such as Henk Vogels, Anthony Giacoppo, Steele Bishop, “Pika” Davis, Eddie Hollands, Matt Poyner, Graham McVilly, Guido Fulst (Germany), Hilton McMurdo, Jim Krynen, “Toti” Bonser, Mike Dye, Gary Suckling and Brad Hall.

The fastest females have included the likes of Melissa Hoskins and Judith Arndt. In 2012 Leonie Burford became the first ever female winner in the event’s history.

The historic race begins in the WA coal mining town of Collie, 200km south of Perth, and heads through hilly terrain towards Mumballup for 21km before turning and heading towards the township of Donnybrook. This is the halfway point. Riders then turn and return back to Mumballup. The last 21km of the course is a torturous course through the hills to finish in the main street of Collie, completing the 104km event.